The last time I studied the book of Romans it left me confused, tired, hurting. It was a year of conflict and through some division I missed the whole point of the book. I put Romans far far to the end of books in the Bible I flip to for help and comfort and to draw close to God.

I prayed for this year to have a different outcome. And oh my, what God has wrought in my heart! My one sole goal was to find Jesus in every chapter of Romans. God has answered as He always does – more abundantly, more than I could have imagined. I not only found Jesus in every single chapter, Romans has become my go to book.

It’s a love story – how did I miss that?

It’s a gift. It’s Paul’s masterpiece. Jesus is not only in every chapter, He’s almost in every paragraph. It’s deep. It’s impressive. It’s powerful and tender and hopeful and challenging. Everything my heart wanted has been found in Romans.

It wasn’t until I sat down and reflected on my notes all through the year that I saw what Romans has given to me – 16 glimpses of Jesus, every Name taking me further down the path to the inner sanctuary where Paul was leading the early church and where God is leading me.

Jesus in every chapter of Romans:

Chapter 1 – Jesus is the Reason – the Reason for Paul’s letter, the Reason of the Gospel.

Chapter 2 – Jesus is the Judge – judging men’s secrets on the day

Chapter 3 – Jesus is the Righteous – now righteousness from God made known

Chapter 4 – Jesus is the Object – the object of Abraham’s faith and to be ours

…the God who gives life to the dead and calls things that are not as though they were. Romans 4: 17

Chapter 5 – Jesus is the How Much More – not only so, how much more, all the more, the one man Jesus Christ

Chapter 6 – Jesus is the Sin Bearer – who died to sin once for all

Chapter 7 –  Jesus is the Rescuer – Who will rescue me? Jesus Christ, our Lord!

Chapter 8 – Jesus is my Freedom – there is no freedom like being set free from sin and death!

Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus  because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death. Romans 8: 1-2

Chapter 9 – Jesus is the One Who Calls – calling you and me

Chapter 10 – Jesus is the One who Saves – the one to confess, the one to believe

Chapter 11 – Jesus is the Doxology – pure praise to God

Chapter 12 – Jesus is the Head of the Body – in Him many are one

Chapter 13 – Jesus is the Armor of Light – to clothe ourselves

Chapter 14: Jesus is the Guard of the Weak – able to make us stand

And he will stand, for the Lord is able to make him stand. Romans 14: 4

Chapter 15 – Jesus is the Servant to the Jews to confirm the Gentiles – the root of Jesse, the Reconciler

Chapter 16 – Jesus is the Crusher of Satan, Revealer of the Mystery, Present in His Church!

This letter, this book…

the masterpiece of Paul reveals the Masterpiece of All!


log of verses: 1: 1-6; 2: 16; 3: 21; 4: 24-25; 5: 3,9,10,15,17,20; 6:10-12; 
7 23-25; 8: 2; 9:12; 10: 9-10; 11: 33-36; 12: 4-8; 13: 12-14; 14: 1-4; 
15: 8; 16: 20,25